The Stand by Stephen King

5stars rating

 

The place where you made your stand never mattered. Only that you were there…and still on your feet.

So I finally finished this gigantic brick. This freakin’ gigantic heavy brick, and all I can say is, this is probably the best freakin’ brick ever made. With a heaping 1439 pages, this book managed to hurt both my wrists, and probably injured some of my fingers. That’s the price I had to pay to read this amazing novel. I never thought that I wouldn’t finish this, fuck it I never even thought of putting this book down and read something else for the meantime. All I can say is, Stephen King managed to impress me again. Not that I doubted him though.

Its a typical thing for King to serve us with multiple characters with different stories, and plunge them together at some point. And as usual, some were amazing, and some were dreadfully boring unforgettable. This was also my experience while reading Needful Things, but his characters here are way better. I got an in depth description of each one, and I either loved or hated each one. That technique of King is truly remarkable. What goes best with an amazing plot? Well, freakin’ amazing characters that’s what. Ask me who my favorite is, and I’ll probably end up describing most of them instead because I loved almost all of them.

I remember complaining how long the novel is. I’ve read quite a few epics, but all of them were way shorter than this. When I finished though, and pondered upon what could’ve been excluded, none came to mind. I believe everything happened for a reason, or let me rephrase that, everything was written for a reason. You can’t really take out something from the story, because then the plot holes would reappear. The length of the novel is proportional to the enjoyment I experienced while reading this.

Once again, the characters were amazing and fully developed. I actually cared for them, and I didn’t want them to die. This novel focused on the battle between good and evil, in a lengthy epic like feeling. We have Mother Abagail on the good side, and Flagg as the devil. It’s King’s second time to introduce a devil-like character, and the character turned out just as amazing. Flagg truly depicted a strong devil. He’s really a strong character that I would love to read more about in his other novels (really hoping for a guest appearance).

Harold is the one I hated the most while reading. That pig really annoyed me. Everything he did was really annoying, and I wanted him to die at one point in the novel. Although I do have to point out that I hate him for a good reason. My hatred of him led to a better enjoyment of the novel. We all hate a character, and we want to see awful things done to them. I’m more than satisfied with the characters King created.

Lloyd and Nick were really amazing too. One is part of the dark team, and the other of the good team. I’m not gonna spoil who belongs where. All you need to know is that Nick’s a kickass deaf-mute, and Lloyd’s an annoying yet funny character. Tom’s really cool too, despite being a retard. I didn’t care for him that much in the beginning, but things started to change as I read along.

Stu and Fran’s story would have to be my favorite of all the ones in the novel. Ever since the early parts of the novel, Fran’s story already caught my interest, and it continued till the end. Larry Underwood’s also really interesting. His pride overcoming him then more awful things happening really kept me interested in what would happen to him. I’m only going to mention those characters though, because who would want to read a spoiler and ruin their reading experience right? Those 3 are my favorites, but that doesn’t mean that the others were boring. I will repeat, almost all the characters are amazing. There will obviously be a few that would stand out, and those 3 are my choice. Wait, I forgot to mention another favorite, the freakin’ dog Kojak!! I always love dogs in novels. Kojak didn’t disappoint!

Okay, enough feet kissing and let me get on with some negative aspects of this novel.

The back of the book states that “The survivors who remain are scared, bewildered, and in need of a leader. Two emerge –Mother Abagail, the benevolent 108-year-old woman who urges them to build a community in Boulder, Colorado; andRandall Flagg the nefarious “Dark Man”, who delights in chaos and violence. Yes, both of them possess those amazing qualities, but I don’t think it’s right to say that both of them are the leaders of the novel. I get that people in the novel looked up to the both of then [in fear and in doubt] but neither of the two became my genuine favorite. I really liked them both, yes, but that’s that. Randall’s really outstanding with all the violence don’t get me wrong, but Mother Abagail was presented as somewhat disgusting . Obviously opinionated, but hey, aren’t all reviews opinionated?

Maybe I should’ve said that I had one problem, because that’s all I can think of as of right now. I had problems along the novel though, but all [except the one stated above] were resolved. Major problems like plot holes and all were resolved at the end of the novel, and that’s awesome. Mostly when I read a novel, the problems that I had while reading didn’t get fixed. The Stand proved itself otherwise. The main problem would be that we tend to complain even if we’re not yet done with the novel.

The ending’s really great. I’m not going to complain anymore because I really liked it. It gave me closure, and honestly, the ending’s really witty. You’ll have to read it yourself, but I really liked it. I’m not gonna put it in a spoiler tag anymore, because there’s no reason to do so. Just read this amazing novel and see for yourself. Once again, real witty of you King. This is why you’re my favorite author.

So to wrap things up, this is now my favorite King novel. It is clearly superior to The Long Walk and Needful Things, both in length and substance. I’m not saying don’t read the other two, because they are both amazing in their own ways, and I’m also recommending them. The Stand is just King’s novel that had the biggest impact on me, as of now. Such a shame to say that he’s my favorite author yet I believe I’ve read less than ten books of his, and I’ve only read this now. I’m planning to change that soon though, I can’t wait to read more amazing novels written by King. 5/5 stars, and a worthy addition to my favorites list. A clear recommendation, and I can say that this is one of my best reads of 2014.

Leave a Reply

