The Great Zoo of China by Matthew Reilly

3 stars rating

Thank you Netgalley for providing me with an arc

The Great Zoo of China tried its best to present something extraordinary, but ended up tackling a used plot and modifying it. I would be lying if I say that I don’t see any comparison with Jurassic Park, because this was Jurassic Park with Dragons instead of dinosaurs. Nope, Mr. Reilly, simply changing the country, animal, and purpose doesn’t make this something new. It was quite good though, but it felt like a reread of JP.

The biggest pro of this novel would be the different types of dragons presented, and the amount of violence. Both made the novel at least a bit more interesting. I was struggling to finish this when I was stuck in the middle part, but it got a bit better along the way. The ending was a bit predictable, but not that bad at the same time. This novel being a standalone, the author gave it a proper ending.

Another somewhat good thing would be the diverse setting. The author is Australian yet he decided to choose China as the setting. I believe it’s not easy using another country with different cultures and trying not make them sound so stereotypical. Props for mentioning the Philippines and using it as a main landmark in the end of the novel. This is only the second time that I’ve heard the Philippines being used by the author as an important part of the novel. The other time would be when I watched Godzilla.

3/5 stars. Clearly not one of the best novels I’ve read, but it was short and easy to read once the action started. This novel would be better read by people who haven’t read Jurassic Park. Believe me, nothing compares to Jurassic Park.

Leave a Reply

