Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter by Seth Grahame-Smith Book Review

“Without death,” he answered, “life is meaningless. It is a story that can never be told. A song that can never be sung. For how would one finish it?”

Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter is an impeccable example of how history can be made interesting with strategy. Even though I’m vastly interested in history, reading huge textbooks or listening to commentaries still makes me sleepy. I’ve read about how Lincoln died many times now, from different sources, but I never understood why it happened. I also never really knew much about him other than he was a former U.S President. I’m sure that if I grew up in the U.S then I would have vast knowledge of him, but sadly I didn’t. I heard that this book was heavily researched on, so I’m guessing I now have at least a brief introduction on who Lincoln was as a President. Events were obviously coated with the vampire-fantasy gimmick, but I still see some as real events that happened. Before reading this I already knew I was going to enjoy it. The premise was straightforward and it caught my interest immediately. Despite numerous 1-2 star reviews, I went ahead and decided to read this book anyway. Such a great decision I made. The writing was near perfect. The way that the author alternated from his narration and Lincoln’s journal was very interesting. If it was an attempt to maintain the reader’s interest, then he clearly succeeded, at least with me. I’m clearly happy with the historical vibe of the novel, and the way that it didn’t venture out of it. Some other authors would mistakenly write about things that are not present in the time that they’re trying to portray. I didn’t see anything wrong with SG-S’ writing, so I’m clearly satisfied. The plot was in parr with the premise. It showed Lincoln’s life, as a vampire hunter. A parody but life lessons were still present. That’s the great thing about reading fiction, not only does it interest you, but it also teaches. If I were to quote all of the things I thought were life lessons then this review wouldn’t be a review, but rather a short preview. All you need to know is that it was really amazing. Here’s one of my favorites though:

“Judge us not equally, Abraham, We may all deserve hell, but some of us deserve it sooner than others.”

The characters were all interesting and genuine. Genuine in a way that they weren’t pretentious. The author also didn’t make them seem unbelievable. Another reason why I like the writing of this novel. Also the way that Abe developed was really good. It was very well incorporated to the vampire aspect of the novel. No cheesy vampire romance here. The vampires are violent and merciless. I would also like it mention that the author was rather harsh with the outcome of some characters. I’m not sure if they really happened, but the harshness managed to interest me too. I don’t have a faint heart, and the darker the novel the better, for me. I can’t wait the read the sequel of this. I heard though that it can be read as a standalone, considering it’s Henry’s point of view, and that makes me even more excited. I really liked Henry here, so reading about the what he decides to do after Abraham’s death is clearly exciting. I’m glad the author made a sequel about him. 5/5 stars. This is my first read of Seth Grahame-Smith, and clearly it’s not going to be my last. He managed to exceed my expectations. I don’t give out 5 stars that often, but this novel clearly deserves it. Highly recommended. Will probably read this again in the future.

Leave a Reply

