The Vampire’s Assistant by Darren Shan

I didn’t know what to read next, even though Blood Song was already on my currently reading list, so I decided to rearrange a part of my bookshelf. I noticed book 3 lying around with a couple of other random books. I then had a slight feeling of wanting to continue on with the series. I heard nothing but great things, but book 1 managed to disappoint me. Setting the bad past experience of book 1 aside, I decided to read the book 2 and decide after if I would finish the series or not. Despite the 3 star rating I gave this, I have to admit that I can’t wait to finish all of the books in the series.

This can be considered one of those YA-horror books that you should’ve read when you were actually a young-adult. I’m turning 20 this year, so I didn’t find anything creepy about this novel. What I liked though would be the coming-of-age feeling it had. I like reading about an adventure of a kid growing up, so this series might be the thing to read, and hopefully resurrect the YA genre for me. I’ve given up on the genre way too long ago, but I still try to read a few of them once in a while and see if something floats my boat. This is one of those boat floaters, and I’m glad I continued on.

This second novel was way superior to the first one. All introductions aside, it was a great novel of adventure. The writing was okay for me, it didn’t have any major issue so I don’t have much to complain about. The plot was also consistent, and the latter parts had a good amount of action. I liked reading about how the main character had to make important life decisions. Hopefully he grows older in the next novels, because I would like to see the possible development of the main character.

While reading this, I remembered an episode from Fairly Odd Parents wherein Timmy Turner joined the circus for a day, but ended up missing his family so he decided to go home. This series seems like that at first, but the main character didn’t go back, he became a full member of the circus. I would love to read more about his adventures with Cirque Du Freak, and thankfully there are 10 more books in the series.

3/5 stars. Nothing spectacular, but it’s one of the few YA series that managed to catch my attention. I’m sure the author has more tricks up his sleeves in the next novels.

Leave a Reply

