The Shadow of Elysium by Django Wexler

It’s no secret how much I enjoyed the first two books of The Shadow Campaigns series, so when I saw this up for grabs on netgalley, I had to click request. Gladly I got accepted, but it took me weeks before I finally read this.

This novella didn’t have any of the main characters of the series, but that doesn’t mean that the characters were boring. I honestly liked Abraham, but unfortunately I had no background of Alex, because I only read about 10 pages of the prequel novella and decided to skip it and read this instead. Despite the lack of background though, I still liked her a bit. I was expecting a bit of a cliche romance, but got something way different instead. Not going to spoil anything though so better read this to know what I’m talking about.

4/5 stars. Just like any other novellas, they are just too short. I hate short stories, never liked them, probably never will, but this one managed to be one of those good ones. Highly recommended for readers of the series, although I don’t think it played any role to the main novels at all. Django Wexler is one of those rising authors readers should check out.

Leave a Reply

