Astonishing X-Men by Joss Whedon

My love for the X-Men is not something I’ve hidden from the past. I’ve mentioned this recently, so I guess I don’t really need to remind the people who read my review of another X-Men series. This first volume was great. It vaguely depicts a great story arc and hints for great plot twists to come in the next volumes.

The plot was different than the usual X-Men plot I got used to. I only know X-Men from the movies and I can vaguely remember some random single issues when I was younger, so I had no idea what writers were experimenting on over the past years. Whedon had something new to offer, but it wasn’t as astonishing as I would’ve wanted. This honestly had a really similar plot to the third X-Men movie, X-Men: The Last Stand. He changed a whole lot, but the essence was still there. The main idea was basically the same, but I’m not complaining to be honest. I just wanted to point out how similar things were, but I’m not mad because i liked X-Men: The Last Stand. I know a lot of people disliked it because the characters became darker and not jolly, but it’s still the X-Men for me. The story was great, but just like the movie, this volume was also lacking. While it was great to know that there’s a cure, I just seem to feel that the author has more to offer after this. I’m not completely satisfied.

The artwork was way better than I expected. I liked how they were portrayed, unlike the most recent one I read. I know that this is just a personal preference but I always judge harshly on the artwork. Bad artwork always ruins the whole experience, so thankfully this didn’t disappoint. Kudos for making Wolverine look at least cool, and even Scott Summers. Most of the time both of them look like thrash, so it’s a great thing to finally pay some respect and portray them well.

Can I just ask though, if it’s too spoilery then please tell me and don’t answer, but where the fuck is Storm?

4.5.5 stars. Rounded down, just like any other Graphic Novel. I always round down when it comes to GN, so I guess you could also say that I judge these harsher than novels. A great read though, so don’t hesitate to try if you’re looking for a great X-Men read.

Leave a Reply

