Focus: Best Ways To Improve Your Concentration and Improve Your Learning by David Hewitt

I was looking for a book to help me with my concentration skills and memory retention. This one received a good amount of praise on Amazon, so I decided to buy it since it was on sale for $1.99. I know that most of the time the Amazon rating will be misleading and incorrect, but this is a self-help book for pete’s sake. How different could my opinion be from the other 127 customers.

I’m glad I bought this book, because it helped me realize how unproductive i was. It didn’t help a lot in terms of the techniques, but it did help with making me feel like shit (in a good way). I know I’m a huge procrastinator, and I honestly want to change. I want to be able to set my mind to a certain task and really excel in it. I’ve chosen to study premed (and med in the future) so that means a tremendous amount of things to be memorized. I know that the main problem why it takes me about 5 hours to study things is that my concentration falters off more often than the actual studying. I know that if I have the right mindset and concentrate enough, I could possibly finish studying in an hour or two. This book had a good amount of exercises that I plan on trying. I really hope that the ones mention would help me in my chosen field. I will be reading more self-help books regarding memory retention and concentration.

4/5 stars. I delivered what it wanted to, and it helped me one way or another. I don’t normally buy from Amazon (I’m an iBooks person), and to be frank this is only my second buy from Amazon ever. There are some books that are impossible to find anywhere, and I might have to buy more books from Amazon from now on. Some of the “indie authors” do have something to be proud of. They’re not all bad.

Leave a Reply

