Superman Earth One; Vol.1 by J. Michael Straczynski

Maybe they should’ve made Geoff Johns do this series, because the Batman Earth One series is among my favorite graphic novels ever. This story arc of Superman was not bad just to be clear, but nothing was interesting on the other hand. Forgettable at best.

Actually the whole thing felt a bit rushed. It’s like Stracyznski didn’t give Superman the proper introduction that he deserved. I’m not a huge Superman fan, but I’m not among the haters. I don’t think I’ve ever read a Superman graphic novel, or even a single comic book issue, so that’s why I was expecting to enjoy this. Everything that I know about Superman would be because of the movies and the TV series (animated). This is not a good start for a Superman newbie.

The artwork was commendable though. I liked how they portrayed him, unlike some of the Justice League ones. Am I the only one who can see a slight similarity to Spider-man? Seriously, the job that he chose closely resembled Spidey’s. Like I said though, I don’t really know the original story of Superman, so I’m not sure if I should complain about that in the first place.

3/5 stars. Mediocre but not terrible enough to make me steer away from the next volume. Hopefully the next one would have a better plot development. I don’t like my graphic novels rushed.

Leave a Reply

