You by Caroline Kepnes

One of the few genres that I’m never reluctant to read is psychological thriller. I don’t think I’ve ever hated one. On the contrary, the lowest I’ve given was 4 stars as of today. This genre will always be one of those leisure reads, and the more messed up, the better.

There are a lot of things to commend about this novel. Aside from the plot being loyal to its premise, the author also managed to introduce amazing characters. You can’t have a good messed-up plot without messed-up characters. Joe is the perfect narrator, and the things going on in his mind will make you question the sanity of the people around you.

Predictability is always important in this genre. Once the plot has gotten too obvious, the reader starts to hate the novel. Twists and turns make the novel tremendously better, and this one didn’t quite hit the mark in that category. This is why I rated this 4.5 rounded down, and not the most wanted 5 stars. 3/4 through the novel I didn’t know how it was going to end, but the “twist” in the end was something I knew was going to happen eventually. It was obvious, and the ending was also a bit obvious after the revelation.

The plot was fantastic. Like I said, it makes you question the sanity of those people around you. It makes you wonder if the person beside you could possibly be a Joe. I like books that are supernatural-horror (Stephen King), but nothing beats horror that tackles reality. Something that is possible, or even, something that is happening out there right now. The possibility of a Joe living and practicing his psychotic ways is more possible than you think.

The characters were commendable. They did the plot justice, and added a whole new level of greatness for the novel. I might be the only one thinking about this, but Beck is just as messed up as Joe. I’m saying that because Joe thought he was the alpha in the story. He thought that he was controlling Beck just because he had access to her email and that he knew what is going on in her head. In the end, for me, Beck was the one playing Joe, and he was unconscious about it. While he was the supposed winner in the end, he still lost. He lost the only thing that made his world go round.

4.5/5 stars. I highly recommend this novel if you’re looking for a great psycho-thriller read. You’re going to love the characters and the plot. I want to see how this turns out if they make this into a movie.

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Bookahontas says:

    Great review!! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  2. I gave this book the same rating! I love this book soooo much.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

