Taken by Erin Bowman

Based on the premise, I thought this could be the novel that would change my perception of the YA genre. Unfortunately, it only further degraded the genre for me.

Predictable, underdeveloped characters, and weak plot. After the first 50 pages or so, the novel started going downhill. It’s a surprise that I managed to reach page 266, but by then it was unbearable. I had to put the novel down before I end up rating it 1 star.

The biggest question is for you YA lovers is, “Was the novel really that bad?” And my answer, as usual, is that no, it wasn’t that bad. It was just that bad in my case, because I’ve given up on the genre a long time ago. I’m sure another question pops in your head, “Why the fuck did you read this then?”, and my answer is that I’m still looking for YA books that are actually good. I’m sure there are a bunch of them out there, and I don’t want to be labeled a genre discriminator. I may have a negative perception of the novel, but at least I still try to read some from time to time.

The idea of boys disappearing on their 18th birthday did catch my interest, but what i failed to realize early on was that this was so similar to The Maze Runner. I mostly ignore and forgive such similarities because I’m sure the author didn’t copy TMR. It was just a realization I had about 200 pages in.

I didn’t like the writing because it was too spoon-fed. It’s like the author didn’t even want the readers to think on their own. This is not a children’s novel, and I’m pretty sure most teenagers can decipher ideas on their own. That’s one of biggest problems I had with this novel.

Even though I didn’t enjoy this, I still won’t spoil anything for interested readers. I guess you’ll have to see for yourself if this is good or bad.

1.5/5 stars. Not recommending this because I didn’t even finish it to begin with. Hoping other YA fanatics would enjoy this though.

Leave a Reply

