Best Books of 2015

I believe 2015 was a mediocre year for me. The first few months were great, but then the slump happened. I don’t remember which particular novel triggered the slump, but it has been going on for months, up to this day. I’m slowly working my way out of it, but reading feels a bit tiresome for me lately. It might be because third year pre-med is the worst, or my priorities changed over the past few months. I am working my way to finding that novel that would bring back my love for reading.

I’m going to do this review per genre, or at least per genre that I’ve read this year. You can click on the title of the novel to read my review.

Best Fantasy : The Thousand Names by Django Wexler

As you all know Fantasy is my favorite genre, but I’ve read a minimal amount of them this year. Fantasy novels are gigantic in nature, and being on a reading slump doesn’t really help. I read The Thousand Names way before the slump happened though, so I enjoyed it a lot. One of the best in 2015.

**Contenders:
1.The Shadow Throne by Django Wexler
2.A Knight of the Seven Kingdoms by George RR Martin
3.Blood Rites by Jim Butcher

Best Sci-Fi : Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel

Sci-Fi in a way that it was dystopian. Amazing character development, and the plot was also great.

**A great contender though would be Armada by Ernest Cline. Great for book for geeks, just like Ready Player One.

Best Psychological Thriller: You by Caroline Kepnes

A great novel about how addiction is never good, even when it comes to love. If you want messed up characters and a messed up plot, then this novel is for you.

**A great contender is The Girl On The Train by Paula Hawkins. “You” was only slightly better, but this was just as messed up.

Best Fiction :Inside the O’Briens by Lisa Genova

Amazing character development, and the plot was not predictable.

**Contenders are:
1. The Dinner by Herman Koch
2.The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time by Mark Haddon

Best Horror : Misery by Stephen King

It’s not a best horror novel if it ain’t from Stephen King. Biased opinion aside, this novel really was the best horror novel I’ve read this year. It’s a mix of Horror and Psychological thriller. This is one of my top 5 fave books of Stephen King.

**Contenders may seem a bit biased, but it’s not my fault that they were the best:
1. It by Stephen King
2. Night Shift by Stephen King

Best Historical Fiction : Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter by Seth Grahame-Smith

It was a huge surprise that I enjoyed this because almost everyone hated it, but it just goes to show that opinions vary. I liked how the author changed the names and added paranormal elements, but tried to stay true to the topic. I still haven’t read the sequel, but surely it will be read in 2016.

**Contenders:
1. Emperor: The Gates of Rome by Conn Iggulden
2. The Angel’s Game by Carlos Ruiz Zafon
The second one actually got a 5 star from me, but Abraham Lincoln had a better lasting effect on me.

Best Graphic Novel : Batman Earth One: Volume 2 by Geoff Johns

If I were to make a best list of 2014, the best graphic novel would be Batman Earth One: Volume 1. I love this series, and Geoff Johns will continue to be my favorite graphic novel writer of all time.

**Contenders:
1.Wanted by Mark Millar
2. Any of the Locke and Key series by Joe Hill. Anything between Volume 1-5. Too lazy to make a link for each one.

Best Crime-Mystery-Thriller : link: Finder’s Keepers by Stephen King

Another “award” for Stephen King. Just proves further how great of an author he is. He may be the master of horror, but he can also write crime. Can’t wait for the third book!

**Contender:
1. The Lincoln Lawyer by Michael Connelly

Best Classics : The Invisible Man by H.G. Wells

Not really the best classics book out there, but it was the best I read this year. Nothing particularly bad about it either, but it wasn’t good enough. I have to read more classics in 2016.

Best I don’t really know what the genre of this novel is:Battle Royale by Koushun Takami

This is a mixture of Crime, Horror, and Sci-Fi. I decided to give it its own “genre” because I can’t decide which from the three it truly belongs. Just a fair warning, this novel is brutal. Don’t read it if you can’t stomach violence. I like my novels as violent as possible, so this was amazing for me.

**No contenders. I can’t find any.

Biggest disappointment of 2015 : Salem’s Lot by Stephen King

Another one for King, but it’s not good this time. This has been considered as one of this best works of all time, and I’m still surprised that I didn’t enjoy it. A reread of this is necessary, and hopefully by then I’d be able to appreciate its greatness.

**Contenders for biggest disappointment:
1. Revival by Stephen King
Look, another one for King. I believe Pet Sematary was the reason why I felt a huge sense of disappointment for this one.

2.NOS4A2 by Joe Hill
3.The Circle by Dave Eggers
4.Private Down Under by “James Patterson”
5.Ancillary Justice by Ann Leckie

2015 might be one of the dark days of my reading life, but I will try my best to make sure that 2016 would be a lot better.

Leave a Reply

