Heir to the Empire (Star Wars: Thrawn Trilogy Book 1) by Timothy Zahn

“But you must never relax your guard. The Emperor is gone, but the dark side is still powerful. Never forget that.”

As we all know, Episode VII came out a few weeks ago. I watched it a few days after the premiere and was amazed. I watched it for the second time a week ago, and was still amazed. I’ve been a Star Wars fan ever since I was a child, but my love for the series slowly degraded because no new movies came out. I’m back to loving the series now all thanks to the release of episode 7.

This novel should’ve been episode 7, but released years ago, or maybe as another film trilogy. The plot here is great, and I honestly think that it could’ve been really successful.

The novel consists of your favorite Star Wars cast. Luke Skywalker, Han Solo, Princess Leia, Chewie, R2D2, and C3PO. After re-watching the original trilogy for the nth time, I wanted more stories about these characters, and episode 7 only gave the viewers a bit of them. Not enough to satisfy, but I know that JJ Abrams wanted to introduce new characters, and he succeeded in that. This novel gave me the satisfaction of reading more about the characters, and did really well in the process.

I’m a huge Luke Skywalker fan, but honestly he is just my second favorite character in this novel. My favorite is Grand Admiral Thrawn. He portrays what a true villain is capable of, but we see him as a semi-weak figure in this novel. I believe the author did that on purpose for the sake of character building. I feel that Thrawn will further develop in the next novels, and be a real threat to Luke and his friends.

I don’t really need to talk about the characters because if you liked them from Episodes 1-6, then you’re going to like them even better here. No new set of characters will ever manage to surpass the greatness that the original ones ever portrayed. They can try, but they will always fail, just like the dark side.

“All men want power. And the more they have, the more they want.”

That line clearly depicts the dark side. Add in the fact that Thrawn said that line to Pallaeon, the ship captain. Speaking of Pallaeon, he is also one of those characters who seem to hint that he will be important in the future. I liked Pallaeon, even though he seems like a wimp. He’s a follower of Thrawn, and he clearly admires him. Just like how Kylo Ren admires Darth Vader.

The plot really entertained me, but it clearly isn’t perfect. There are a bit boring moments here and there, but forgivable at best. The most important thing that the plot has is Mara Jade. I already knew who she is, and who she will be, so that sucks. She is only introduced in this novel, so steer clear from family trees on social media. I’m not going to spoil anyone, and hopefully no one gets spoiled.

4.5/5 stars. This is one of those “it almost got a 5” novels. I’m excited to read the next two novels in the trilogy, and then read more about Thrawn because I heard that there are more novels about him. Highly recommended for avid Star Wars fans, you will not be disappointed.

Leave a Reply

