This Savage Song by Victoria Schwab

I got an arc from Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review.

Most of my friends here know that I dislike reading most YA books. I find most of them shallow and repetitive, but the premise of This Savage Song made me want to give the genre another chance. I’m glad that I did, because this is one of the best YA books out there. I stopped reading the genre a long time ago, so if this novel strikes you as repetitive and predictable, then it’s the difference of situations for us.

This Savage Song revolves around the lives of August Flynn and Kate Harker. The former a monster, and the latter the daughter of a very influential and horrendous man named Callum Harker.

The author introduced an interesting world. I enjoyed reading about several types of monsters and how they affect the world the author created. Even the gift of August is very interesting. Really complies with the title of the novel.

The plot is a mixture of paranormal and thriller rolled up into one novel. It’s interesting to read about how August fights his own demons, and the demons around him. Even better reading about Kate’s thirst for her father’s respect, and the respect of those people around her. The two characters strengthens the novel by a long shot. Aside from a terrific plot, Schwab managed to create several likeable and relatable characters.

This novel has a bunch of plot twists, so don’t expect your ending to be bleak. Also, it’s not one of those typical end the first book so that there will definitely be a second book gimmick most authors do. Most of them turn out annoying and forced, but Schwab managed to write a great ending, or should I say, a great cliffhanger. The last page of the novel made me want to read the next novel right away.

It was months ago that I read a novel that made me stay up till 4:30 in the morning just to finish it. I can’t believe that this novel made me do that, but it felt really refreshing to truly get out of the reading slump. This novel gave hope to the YA genre.

This is my very first read ever of Victoria Schwab and I’m planning to read her other series very soon. Such an amazing author.

5/5 stars. Highly recommended for anyone who reads. Such a compelling read written by one of the highly acclaimed authors of the Fantasy-YA genre.

Leave a Reply

