Emperor of Thorns by Mark Lawrence

This novel helped me reach a new milestone in my life, and that is to enjoy listening to audiobooks. I’ve written several reviews of how much I hated audiobooks, but I believe James Clamp helped me realize how amazing audiobooks are. Add in the fact that this is an amazing novel with a terrific plot and characters. Kudos to Mark Lawrence for ending a trilogy the right way.

My journey with this trilogy was rough. I enjoyed the first novel very much, but the second left a bitter taste in my mouth. It took me almost 2 years to pick this one and finally read the ending of the trilogy. I can gladly say though that the bitter taste is gone.

I know it was a risk that I chose to listen to this rather than read it, but with my hectic schedule I didn’t see a way for me to sneak this in my ever growing TBR pile.

What makes this trilogy really amazing for me is Jorg. Jorg alone can make this trilogy standout among the others. He is gritty, profane, violent, and can be considered the devil himself. Without him, this trilogy wouldn’t be as successful as it is today.

There are other notable characters in this novel. I’m going on a whim and say that The Dead King really amazed me as a villain. Either it’s James Clamp’s narration that made him really interesting, or Lawrence has talent. I liked the twist and turns that he added. I didn’t see the ending coming, even some of the minor plot twists.

The writing is commendable. As good or even better than most of the notable fantasy authors out there. Consider the fact that this trilogy is considered as his debut trilogy, it’s amazing how he managed to create such a masterpiece. I know I hated the second book, but after reading this, I might have to read it again and possibly change my opinion.

The reason why this didn’t get a 5 star from me is the same problem I had with King of Thorns, and that is the ever changing timelines. I hated it then, I still hate it now. It’s more confusing when listening, but it was still confusing when I read it before, so it’s not the audiobook that made it confusing.

I don’t want to talk about the ending anymore because I don’t want to be the guy who spoils people. All I can say is that it’s unexpected and gives closure to the trilogy.

4/5 stars. A solid ending to a great trilogy. Highly recommended to fans of Joe Abercrombie and George RR Martin. If it’s violence you’re looking for, then this trilogy is for you.

Leave a Reply

