The Last One by Alexandra Oliva

I haven’t had a great read from Netgalley in months. I’m glad that I saw this on the most requested section and decided to give it a try. One of the best decisions I’ve made this 2016.

If you’re planning on reading this novel then you should avoid spoilers at all cost. I read the short summary provided by the author on Goodreads and immediately read the novel. It’s only 304 pages, and I was really happy about this fact. Unfortunately, after reading the whole novel, I’m actually asking for more. I normally avoid lengthy novels because I’m a busy with college, but you’ll understand why I’m asking for more. This novel is amazing.

When I got to around 50%, I was already projecting my rating for the novel. I always do this when I read, and I normally project ratings in random parts of the novel. In this case, I was ready to give this novel 2-3 stars at most, 50% in. The reason is that I didn’t see anything special about it. The plot is engaging, but it lacked the wow factor. Fortunately the last 1/3 of the novel completely made up for the lack of wow-factor I was looking for.

The characters are proficiently written, and I really liked the main character early on in the novel. The supporting characters are diverse and fun to read about.

The novel consists of alternating chapters between early on the event, and the latter part. I’m not going to spoil anything, because it would surely ruin the whole novel. Even a hint of spoilers would mess this novel up for you. You need to read this with as little information as possible.

I liked how everything progressed. It didn’t seem like it was going to wrap up nicely, but the author managed to do it. At one point you’re probably assuming that this is going to happen, or this is not going to happen, but the author throws in a completely different situation and you’ll be knocked off your seat. The twists and turns in the novel

The ending is both great and confusing at the same time. The ending is very crucial when it comes to my final rating of any novel. I don’t care if the novel is 5-star material 99% in. If the ending ruins the whole thing, a 5-star rating can go down to a 1-star rating. It’s great that the ending of this novel helped give it a boost from 3.5 to 4 stars. I’m still hoping for a sequel or a side story to be honest, but that might ruin the first book. You’ll understand everything if you’ve read this amazing novel.

4/5 stars. Clearly not a perfect novel, but it’s really entertaining and worth your time. It’s relatively short but it’s going to make you ask for more, even though there’s never going to be another book because it’s a standalone novel.

Thank you Netgalley for giving me an advance reader’s copy in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

