End of Watch by Stephen King

What I’m feeling right now after reading the last book of the trilogy is a sheer amount of disappointment. This third book had a monstrous amount of expectations for me because first of all, Stephen King is my favorite author of all time. Second reason is that I gave the first two books a 5-star rating. I completely enjoyed the first two books of this trilogy and it didn’t take me more than 5 days to finish them. I bought these books the moment they were being sold and read them right away. The first two books really exceeded my expectations, but this concluding novel really left a bitter taste in my mouth.

Brady is one of the reasons why I really enjoyed the first two books, but unfortunately he didn’t deliver the same way he did in this third novel. He is not the same Brady that I enjoyed before. He’s not that badass and interesting. I know Stephen King wanted to incorporate some paranormal aspects to this crime trilogy, but for me it didn’t work out that well. I loved Stephen King’s other paranormal/horror novels, but this trilogy was supposed to be his crime series. It wasn’t supposed to be different, in a good way. When I see people review his first two novels and give them less than 4 stars, I read the review because I’m bewildered at how they couldn’t see the brilliance of the plot. This third novel though makes me wonder whether or not what I’m feeling now is what other people were feeling when they read the first two books. Don’t get me wrong, if I read the first two books again I’m completely sure that I’ll enjoy them just as much, but this third novel was a chore to read. It took me more than 2 weeks to read it, and it’s only about 430 pages. I’m disappointed at how slow I read this, but I’m much more disappointed at how this novel turned out.

The plot didn’t deliver the way I wanted it to, in fact, the only really exciting parts of this novel are the ending and I faintly remember some good parts along the middle of the book. Aside from those though, the novel was dreadful. I didn’t like the things that King focused on in this novel. It might just be a personal preference but I believe that this novel would’ve been a lot better if he concentrated on the crime aspect.

The characters, aside from Brady, are still just as amazing. That reason alone made me rate this novel 3 stars, rather than the shameful 2 stars. Hodges is still one of my favorite Stephen King characters, and I’m glad that he is still interesting in this novel. I’m glad that King gave him closure, and a proper death. .

3/5 stars. This series overall is really good, but if we’re talking about this novel alone, then it can be considered a disappointment. I waited for a year for this book, and it really bothers me that it’s not as good as I was expecting. I’m still highly recommending the series because some people enjoyed this novel just as much as the first two.

Leave a Reply

