Dark Matter by Blake Crouch

This is one of those novels wherein everything was against my odds. Netgalley didn’t approve my request, and I ended up forgetting about it despite the intimidating amount if praise this novel’s been receiving the past few months. Thankfully Edelweiss accepted my request.

Dark Matter is about endless possibilities. That’s all I’m going to say about this novel because saying more would definitely spoil you and steal the amazing experience you’ll feel after reading this. I haven’t read a novel so perfectly crafted in a long time. Terrific and chilling plot with remarkable characters. This novel is the best Sci-Fi novel of 2016 that I’ve read, and one of the best SF novels ever. I haven’t heard anyone say that this novel is predictable or that they’ve read something terribly similar in the past. It’s safe to say that this novel is original. This is how I like my SF novels, unpredictable and would definitely keep you turning the pages.

Despite my huge reading slump since 2015, this is the fastest I’ve read a novel in a very long time. Also, I was looking forward to reading the novel. I wasn’t conscious of my progress, because I wanted more. Even after reading the last page, I wanted a lot more because the world that the author created is amazing. Despite the beautiful ending the he gave the novel, I still wanted more because there are endless possibilities to add in to the novel. This is clearly a standalone novel, but it wouldn’t hurt to ask for more.

5/5 stars. It’s been 2 months since my last 5 star rating, and this novel clearly deserves all the praise it’s been receiving. I don’t care if the author is famous because of this older book series, because I haven’t even read his other books and I’m still blown away by this novel. It’s clearly not the author hype or the hype itself that makes this novel amazing, it’s the content. It’s how the author created a masterpiece. One of my favorite books of all time.

Leave a Reply

